It’s Going to Be a Busy Fall

It’s Going to Be a Busy Fall

We have a lot of activities and events coming up as we move into the Fall season. Below are details of what’s to come!

Sunday, August 25 at 10 am — Rev. Wanda Sevey is preaching on “Ridiculous Joy of the Lord” 

Sunday, September 1 at 10 am — Rev. Dr. Geneva Butz will be preaching on “Open to All” and communion (that will be open to all!)

While Michael is away on vacation, call the church office with any pastoral concerns; she can get in touch with Michael or ask help from others who are offering pastoral coverage. 

Welcome Back Sunday, September 8 at 11 am — We go back to 11 am service; choir should be back; we are tentatively scheduled to kick-off our Pre-K Sunday School Class during worship; special welcome back Fellowship Hour; the Race and Racism book group with meet to discuss The Warmth of Other Sons and there is the last of the summer brunches — at the Bourse — for those who wish to go to lunch after church. 

Saturday, September 14 at 1 pm — The Ordination of Margaret Ernst to the Christian Ministry at Chestnut United Church.

Sunday, September 15 — We will kick-off the monthly (post confirmation) Youth Group with tubing on the Delaware (but EVERYONE is invited to join us, even to wear bathing suits to church!)

Saturday, September 21 at 3 pm — The Ordination of Haeman Hong Shin to the Christian Ministry in our Sanctuary.  

Anniversary Sunday, September 22 at 11 am –– The church will celebrate its 292 birthday and we will have a potluck after worship. 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday, September 29 at 11 am — A regular Sunday to catch our breathe! 

World Communion Sunday, October 6 at 11 am — When we remember how long and wide and welcoming God’s Table really is! 

Saturday, October 12 at 3 pm — The Ordination of Katrina Forman to the Christian Ministry in our Sanctuary. 

Blessing of the Animals Sunday, October 13 at 11 am — Weather permitting, it will be outdoor worship with our pets. There’s always an implicit contest for who brings the most exotic pet… 

Sunday, October 20 at 11 am –– The New Amsterdam Boys and Girls Choir will be our musical guests in worship. 

Sunday, October 27 at 11 am — Reformation Sunday — wherein we remember our tradition that, warning against absolutes as always being too human, calls us to forever be reforming.

                                at 3 pm — the Fall Meeting of the Philadelphia Association will be held at Old First.